Rafael Riqueni "Alcazar de cristal" CD Score books Vol. 1

Catalogue version to print
Rafael Riqueni Ref.: 50489L-ALCAZAR 01
  • Price: 41.92  €  (Without taxes)

  • Shipment within 3 business days

  • Price total:


How to place an order

To place an order, insert the wanted quantity and click on the shopping cart icon or on BUY.
Then you will visualize the products included in your shopping cart.


The three books of the CD Alcázar de cristal are a new addition to Enrique Vargas's The Great Flamenco Guitarists of Today Library collection.
Son tres volúmenes, aunque se compran individualmente.

''Alcázar de cristal'', the latest work by Rafael Riqueni, is extremely interesting for a variety of reasons:

- First, there is the wide palette of influences found in the work, from baroque to Spanish musical nationalism, and from jazz to nineteenth-century romanticism—all of which Rafael implements within an unmistakably flamenco musical idiom.

- Second, there is the complexity of the arrangements, which sometimes include three guitars, a string section, piano, etc...

Since there is practically no flamenco literature for more than one guitar, great effort has been made to include these arrangements in the transcriptions, which can be used in both professional settings and for didactic purposes. All the parts where there are more than one guitar have been transcribed in their entirety, making these scores ideal for duets or trios. This opens up some very interesting possibilities for professional flamenco groups or for students who prefer to play with another guitarist. For example, musicians who work in dance companies or who accompany singers can use various falsetas from this album that are arranged for more than one guitar. Flamenco guitar students can also interpret these pieces to learn to play with other musicians.

This work includes a series of pieces that don't come from the world of pure flamenco, and therefore don't demand a deep knowledge of flamenco forms and techniques, which makes them accessible to guitarists of other styles—classical, jazz, Brazilian, etc.—interested in the flamenco guitar, making these pieces a sort of link between the flamenco guitar and other genres.

Each transcription includes the following:

1. A history of the form

2. Scales, chords, and flamenco tonalities

3. Compás , palmas and foot-tapping patterns, which, though indispensable for understanding flamenco rhythms, are rarely analyzed in publications about flamenco.

4. Analysis of the most difficult falseta s with explanations and suggestions on their technical execution.

5. A list of basic rasgueados

6. A glossary of flamenco terminology

7. The symbols used in flamenco writing

Score sample 
Coments sample
Analisys sample

Since altogether this work is over 600 pages long, it is presented in three books in order to make it possible to use.

This is the habitual format for transcriptions in “ The Great Flamenco Guitarists of Today Library” series: - "Algo que decir" by "el Viejín", - "Alcazar de Cristal" by Rafael Riqueni,, since contemporary flamenco pieces are much longer than they used to be in the past and often include more than one guitar. Enrique Vargas transcribes all the additional guitars, which obviously makes the musical text much longer. In addition, the commentaries, suggestions, and analysis sections make each book a mini-manual of flamenco in general, and the style of each artist in particular.

In this bilingual English/Spanish edition, the sheet music is presented in staff and tablature formats with complete fingerings for both hands.

Volume 1
Edición bilingüe inglés/español.
A4 Format
243 Pages

• The tangos “Vivencias”, recorded for three guitars but adaptable for a solo or duet. In the “Commentary and suggestions” section the key of F#Hijaz ( por taranta) is explained, along with the characteristics of modern tangos and the pattern for “ tangos arrumbaos .” The accompaniment to the cante , which is arranged for two guitars, is transcribed in its entirety.

• Thesoleá “Calle Fabié”. This very long soleá , which lasts more than nine minutes, is a masterly review of the art of composing in this palo , which is undoubtedly Rafael Riqueni's strongest. The last part of this piece goes to the lighter rhythm of the soleá por bulerías and includes a second guitar track, transcribed in its entirety. There is also a string section chorus, arranged by Enrique Vargas for a third guitar, with harmonic passages and polyphonic movements that enrich the original melody.

• The taranta “Alcázar de crystal” is a gorgeous guitar solo, a true gem in the repertory of any guitarist.

Product details:

  • Volumen 2Volumen 2
  • Volumen 3Volumen 3
People interested in this item also bought:
  • Rafael Riqueni Alcazar de cristal CD Score books Vol. 2

    Rafael Riqueni Alcazar de cristal CD Score books Vol. 2
    (41.920 €)-(49.16 USD)

  • Rafael Riqueni Alcazar de cristal CD Score books Vol. 3

    Rafael Riqueni Alcazar de cristal CD Score books Vol. 3
    (41.920 €)-(49.16 USD)

  • Alcazar de cristal - Rafael Riqueni

    Alcazar de cristal - Rafael Riqueni
    (11.570 €)-(13.57 USD)

  • Juegos de niños - Rafael Riqueni

    Juegos de niños - Rafael Riqueni
    (16.250 €)-(19.06 USD)


Leave a comment

I want to receive new comentaries alerts
We use own and third party cookies to improve the navigation experience. By continuing with the navigation, we consider that you accept our cookies policy.